School’s out for summer

Standard

I wrapped up my last class of the semester this week. It was an intense semester, with nary a break in workload. Essentially, I was doing a full-time class load on a part-time basis. So, one would think that when the end finally came last Tuesday, that there would be sense of elation in being free from the heavy workload, or at least a flush of pride for my accomplishment. But, no. Instead, I immediately felt my spirit start to slip downward. While I posted “woo hoo” on Facebook to acknowledge the end of the semester from hell, I felt more like “wah, huh?”

An old classmate from Burbank responded to my “woo hoo” status with a faux yearbook comment, including the mandatory (or at least in our day) “have a bitchin’ summer.”  Those words released a flood of memories of what the last day of school used to be like: it was only a half day, with no expectation of any kind of serious work to be accomplished; the giddiness of the prospect of three months where every night was like a weekend night wherein we could stay up late and sleep in the next morning; and usually, that first night of the summer felt particularly celebratory, including the mandatory blasting of this little ditty:

It’s different as an adult. Being out of school just means a temporary let-up of the pressure of the unrelenting due dates. With less distractions from school, I can give more energy to work. Doesn’t that sound like fun?

I need to stop this before I once again land in my dark place. I just wanted to touch base, say “hi” to y’all. I’m hoping that I’ll have the inclination to blog before Summer semester starts at the end of the month. After this semester, I done run out of words with all the writing I had to do for class – maybe about 60 pages total?  So, it makes perfect sense that right now what I’m most excited about is the Oakland Internet Cat Video Festival where no words, or much thought is needed to enjoy such simple pleasures as surprised kittens.

4 responses »

  1. Yay! So glad that you’re blogging again. I really missed your writing. And congratulations on having survived the semester! Yeah, I know what you mean about missing the (relatively) care-free days of being a student when the summer vacation meant freeeeeeeeedooooooom!

    Oh, my God, I wish I could go to that cat festival!

  2. I’ve been wanting to pop in and say since I saw this post come over my reader.
    Didn’t we say something about being classmates as I was going to be heading back to school also in an attempt to finish my degree? Well, it didn’t happen. I didn’t quite get everything together to register and like in times past, life took over again. I’m gonna give it another shot in the fall so we’ll see what happens.

    So glad to see you checking in here. And congrats on getting through the school year relatively unscathed.

    Mucho big hugs to you.
    Jules

Leave a comment