2 bd/2 ba apt available – dogs OK

Standard

Tonight, as was I was fumbling with my keys to get into my house, I was besieged by the frantic barking of the dogs in the apartment building next door.

“Jesus, dogs, I live here. Can’t I come and go from my own house without you losing your shit?” I mutter to myself. (And yes, I know it’s not the dogs’ fault, but the humans. Still it gets old. Really old.)

It’s not a new complaint. These dogs are only the latest in a series of frantic dogs who have lived in that particular apartment over the years, which got me musing about the occupancy criteria.

Potential tenants (PT): We love it!  We’ll take it.
Landlord (LL): OK, great, but I need to ask you some questions first. Do you have a dog?
PT: Um, we have two. The ad said dogs were allowed.
LL: No, that’s great. How big are they?
PT: Oh, they’re small. Chihuahuas.
LL: Perfect. Do they bark a lot?
PT: Well, they’re protective. Yes, I guess they can be a bit vocal at times.
LL: But could you characterize them as “yappy”?
PT: Some might call them that. But, they’re only like that when they get bored or lonely.
LL: How often are they left alone?
PT: We both work, so they’re alone pretty much all day, and well, frankly most of the evenings too.
LL:  Are they territorial?
PT: Like we said, they’re protective. If anyone comes close to the house, they’ll probably bark.
LL: How close?
PT: I don’t know, 50 yards?  Yeah about half a football field in any direction sounds right.
LL:  Perfect!  Your dogs sound like they will continue the long distinguished history of bored-psycho-yappy dogs that have occupied this particular apartment. I’ll get you the paperwork and we’ll get you moved in ASAP. Welcome to the neighborhood.

4 responses »

  1. Egads. My nighbors have a labrador/mongrel whom they suspect was rescued from dog fighters. It freaks out when it senses our dogs in our backyard–apparently trained to fight other dogs, it barks barks barks in aggression. Plus, they seem unable to train it. Just lovely.

    • My dog only barks at the neighbors who walk by not the next doors coming and going from their homes. But I still dont’ like it – he’s annoying. So I call him inside whenever I am home. Let people enjoy the peace and quiet of an evening walk. Though I must admit,for a select few neighbors (who shall remain nameless), when I see them walking, I open the door and let the dog outside to do his annoying barking. Little vindictive streak I’ve got going.

Leave a Reply

