A lazy post about freedom

Standard

Writing prompt: Define “freedom”

Boy oh boy, this prompt is certainly fodder for a political screed, isn’t it? But, I haven’t the energy for that, nor is freedom defined for me by any particular political or economic philosophy.  In fact, to me, freedom has nothing to do with any external conditions whatsoever.

Unfortunately, like I said, I’m a tad tired and can’t really formulate my thoughts in a way that does justice to what freedom means to me.  But, I did find this quote from Ajahn Brahm, a wise and entertaining  Buddhist monk, that touches upon what I wanted to say, and probably says it much better than I could:

Our modern Western culture only recognises…freedom of desires. It then worships such a freedom by enshrining it at the forefront of national constituitions and bills of human rights. One can say that the underlying creed of most Western democracies is to protect their people’s freedom to realise their desires, as far as this is possible. It is remarkable that in such countries people do not feel very free. The second kind of freedom, freedom from desires, is celebrated only in some religious communities. It celebrates contentment, peace that is free from desires.Ajahn Brahm (Opening the Door of Your Heart)

One response »

Leave a Reply

