Now is the time . . .

Standard

I’ve decided to take up the NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month) challenge for this month. Why, you ask, should I  subject myself to this silliness?  Mostly because I am a lazy sod and won’t sit down to write unless faced with a deadline.  But, the other reason was the theme for this month: Now.  In addition to being a most Buddhistic theme, I also like that they are now providing daily writing prompts.  Prompts are good for someone starts banging her head against the keyboard every time I am faced with task of writing for writing sake.  So, without further ado, let the blogging begin!

Writing prompt: When you were little, what did you want to be when you grew up?

My first recollection of formulating a career aspiration was maybe in the first grade. We were given the assignment to draw what we wanted to be when we grew up.  Frankly, at the age of seven, I hadn’t given my future job prospects much thought.   Most  of my female classmates chose Teacher or Mommy. I don’t know whether that was a reflection of the limited types of female role models we had in the mid-60’s, or because they were simply easiest to draw since they were who we saw most frequently.  But me, I had to be different.  I aimed high. I said I wanted to grow up and be a Crossing Guard. Maybe the draw was the policewoman-like uniform she got to wear, coupled with the beauty pageantesque sash that said SAFETY. Perhaps it was her power to stop cars with single flick of her wrist. She was a kindly authority figure, fiercely guarding her little ducklings as we crossed busy Victory Blvd on our way to and from school.  At the time, it seemed like a pretty sweet gig.

6 responses »

  1. Ditto on what AQ said.

    As for me, I wanted to be a rock star, with Kiss-like makeup and fireworks behind me.

    Now I play folk-pop with three friends at our UU church.
    Livin’ the dream, baby! Livin’ the dream.

  2. AnotherQ, Debbie – Thanks for the support. It’s weird, though, praise kind of freaks me out. I get nervous about writing more b/c I get afraid I’ll disappoint people. Yet, I love the praise. Go figure.

    Jules! Hey pal, thanks for dropping by despite my being such a bad blog buddy as of late. Glad to hear you’re livin’ the dream. 🙂

    Trudy – They had mounted police women in England? I thought they were province of those wacky Canadians. (oh, by the way, I can’t get into your blog. Waaaaaa!)

Leave a Reply

