Why I’m so tickled Health Care Reform passed

Standard

I’ll admit that there is some joy to be had in beating the Republicans.  I have hated their overblown rhetoric, scare tactics and out and out lies about Health Care Reform.  After spending most of a lovely Sunday afternoon and evening watching the debate on CSPAN and listening to them arrogantly purport to speak for all Americans, I couldn’t be happier to see them go down in defeat.  But, that is not the biggest reason why I’m so happy the Health Care Reform bill passed.

Like probably millions in this country, I have a pre-existing condition: asthma.  I knew that if I were to ever leave the safety of an employer-paid health plan, I would end up being uninsured until I hit 65 when I become eligible for Medicare.  And the very idea of having to work full-time until I was 65 just so I could have insurance was very depressing.  I’m eligible for retirement in about six or seven years. I will have locked in my pension as well as socked away a good amount in my various retirement savings plans.  And having that retirement goal in mind, I’ve also worked hard so that I will have absolutely no personal debt by the end of this year.

It’s not that I plan to completely not work after I retire, but I want to have more leeway to find part-time work or work that doesn’t pay all that well in terms of dollars, but feels more meaningful than the one I have now. Listen, I do like my job, and I think the company I work for is great.  But, if I had my druthers, I’d probably rather being working for some place that feels like it really is making the world a better place.  And unfortunately, those jobs don’t really pay.

So, now, thanks to this Health Care Reform bill, I will be able to purchase individual insurance, despite my pre-existing condition.  I don’t have to work full-time until I’m 65 just to ensure I have insurance.  And to me, this feels like a whole lotta freedom and hope for my future.  Thank you, President Obama.  Thank you, Democrats.

12 responses »

  1. Wait…the new health care bill…GIVES you freedom?? I thought it was going to take AWAY all our freedoms?? I mean, that’s what the tea party protesters and all the GOP said!!!

    🙂

    It also means my older son gets to have insurance on my plan again for another year. Even that one year is huge for us. He also has pre-existing issues and has never been able to get insurance on his own if his employer didn’t offer it. He’s been without coverage for 3 out of the last 5 years since he was originally aged out of mine.

  2. Watching the debate over this package from the perspective of someone originally from the UK (which has had a National Health Service to which contributions direct from salary are mandatory, plus private health care insurance as an optional extra) and who now lives in Australia which has private health insurance (i.e. non employer related), I was amazed that the US had survived so long without it.

    I mean, seriously, it was medieval.

  3. Pingback: Healthcare Reform is personal, part 2 – an historic weekend « Trees and flowers and birds!

  4. I may be able to get insurance w/o the pre-existing condition exclusion. I’ll be happy about that, however until the full plan kicks in in 2014, I probably won’t be able to afford it. The last quote I got was $780 a month with a copay. So lets see if that changes and when.

  5. Yes, I am also very happy that the health care bill got passed. Like you, I have asthma, and, apart from the time when I was a grad student, I’ve not had any health insurance. Luckily, my asthma is mild but it really rankled me to have to spend $100 every couple of months just to see the doctor so she could write a new bloody prescription for an inhaler.

  6. “Some say that health care should not be an entitlement. If you can’t afford insurance, why should the government step in to help you? It’s not their problem. To that I say: Why is health care not an entitlement? Just as every citizen is entitled to a public education, every American should have the benefit of proper medical care. If that’s your logic then why not close down the libraries and public parks? Heck, let’s do away with social security. If you can’t put enough money aside for retirement too bad. Make your kids take care of you. And while we’re at it, who needs the police and fire department. Or the military? These are all government programs paid for with tax dollars and I don’t think anyone will think for a millisecond that we should do away with them. I am confident that once every American truly understands and gets used to the Obama health care plan they won’t want to do away with that either.”
    -email from a friend- wish I was that eloquent

  7. and THANK YOU sarah palin for pointing out the pointy heads of the tea baggers for all amerika to sea to shining see.

    btw ~ house that tea baggy anti governmenty thingy workin out for ya?

  8. Hi again, I’ve had to make my blog private due to one of my colleagues at work dobbing me in to the boss (the cow) but I’ve added you to the list of people who should still have access to it. If you can’t get in, could you let me know as it will mean I’ve done something wrong?! Thanks!
    Norwichrocks or Woo at Curiouser and Curiouser

Leave a Reply

