Weird Monday

Standard

Weird day here at the office.  Normally, Mondays are a bit crazed.  People save up all their crazy over the weekends and then come in and dump it on us.  But today?  It’s uber-quiet.  One of my staff requested to take half the day off because he was bored.  Hey, if he has the hours and that’s how he wants to use them, why not? 

This stance has apparently made me the hero of other departments where being bored is not a valid reason for leaving early.   If someone wants to leave early they need to come up with some kind of elaborate ruse of feeling sick, or having a sick relative, or some other pressing issue.  But, is it really worth anyone’s time and money to be hanging around doing a whole lot of nothin’?  That’s my philosophy.  If you have the PTO (Paid Time Off)  earned and you want to take off,  and your leaving doesn’t have an adverse affect on business operations, then please go with god, my child.

After only maybe 3 1/2 hours of sleep, I was tempted to call in “tired” this morning.  I should have, really.   I’ve got 9 weeks of PTO on the books, and a boss who shares my philosophy when it comes to time off.  

I don’t know what is going on with me and sleep lately.  We used to be on such good terms.   But now?  When I finally go to bed, sleep doesn’t want to come with me.  And when it does finally join me, it decides to leave me around 3 am and want to wander around until 4:30 or so.  At 5 am, sleep finally settles down and starts to get deep.  But, when the alarm goes off, sleep wants to keep going.   So every morning is a damn struggle between sleep and I.   There are no winners in this war sleep and I are having.

I’m glad it’s a weirdly quiet Monday so that I can get my requisite blog post out of the way while I’m being paid to sit upright and capable of composing sentences.  That frees up my evening to sprawl on the couch and watch “Intervention” and “Hoarders”.  Good times.  Good times.

7 responses »

  1. Your ‘Sound of Rain’ post stuck in my head and I was going to try an ambient sound recording to help with my insomnia. The iPhone app isn’t working for you anymore??

    About the only thing that works for me is a set of structured relaxation and breathing exercizes… but only when I’m mindful enough to practice them on a regular basis.

  2. Hi Norm – some nights the ambient sound (I always choose rain) works for me on some nights. Last night I combined exhaustion, melatonin and the rain sounds and got a lovely night’s sleep. I wish there were a simple solution to this w/out having to resort to Ambien which many of my friends are recommending.

    I’ve heard the relaxation and breathing exercises work too. Because it certainly works when I’m just trying to meditate – sleep comes pretty easily then. 🙂

  3. I’m sorry about your tangle with sleep these days. I’ve been having the same problem. I think it has something to do with The Deistette grinding her teeth though. I woke up this morning at 4:30am feeling ready for the day after going to sleep a little after midnight. Forced myself to go back to sleep only to feel like craaaaaapppp!… at 6:30 when I woke up again.

    BTW… Hoarders is a scary show. I looked it up after reading your other post where you mentioned it and found an episode online. I thought I was a packrat but wow… just… wow.

  4. Julian – I think the show Hoarders is truly a public service. It a) provides perspective to ourselves and others in terms of our own mess and packrat tendencies (see! at least I’m not *that* bad), and b) it is the Red Asphalt for clutterers and packrats.

  5. A couple more things – I went searching for free ambient sound downloads last night; haven’t had a chance to do that yet but I’m going to try it on my mp3. Can’t hurt to try it, hmmm?? The link is on my latest post.

    This might be peculiar to me but I’ve found if I have tension in my tongue (suctioned to the roof of my mouth) sleep doesn’t come easily. Checking that has become part of the relaxation routine.

    When I do the relaxation exercizes regularily the physiological response kicks in quicker – endorphins, I suppose – and I drop off easily.

    Now, with insomnia being such an ongoing problem you’d think I’d be doing these things religiously, wouldn’t you? Nyah, might be good for me.

Leave a Reply

