Look ma! I made art

Standard

banner1*sigh*

I just wrote a big ol’ post about fear of not being perfect, and my reluctance to even attempt to draw or paint because on a deep level I thought I sucked at it.  So, this post was supposed to be about how freeing it was to face down those fears, and just have some fun making “art”.   But, the the stupid computer ate my post,  and all my pretty words are gone.

Anyway, yesterday I went to an open studio of my friend and frequent commenter on this blog.  I expected to just drop by, admire his work, eat some chips, make some chit chat and then be gone.  Little did I know his fiendish plan to get people actually engaged in making “art”.  When he first pointed out the workstations and what could be done at each, I opted to go outside for a while to catch up with a friend.

When I came back in I was strongly encouraged, nay, peer pressured into slopping some paint on this canvas. But, I’m no good at art.  Really, trust me on this I have no freakin’ idea what I’m doing.  Please don’t make me challenge that lifelong belief.  Fine. I’ll do it to make you happy.

Oh.  This is kinda, well, fun.  Let me do another one.  Hey, when is that next time you’re going to do this?  Lemme know, OK?  ’cause this was really, well, fun.

So, thank you friend who goes by many names for showing me it ain’t about being perfect, or doing it “right”.  There’s a bigger lesson in here somewhere to take in to my 50’s, I know, but breakfast beckons.

Daniel amidst his art

8 responses »

  1. I discovered the fun of various forms of art (stuff I spent a lifetime saying I’m horrible at) when I was away from home for almost a year and dealing with some pretty intense and crippling pain. I painted, did collages, took up drawing, experimenting on my own with all sorts of stuff. None of it qualifies as a masterpiece, but it sure was fun. So much fun that I even worked up the nerve to display a few on my blog.

    Congrats on making art and enjoying it at the same time! 🙂

  2. cool! I love the curvy, loopy, eternal squiggles – especially I like how there are three of them (good balanced composition – two would have been too few and four would have been too many) and no extraneous background to distract attention.

    I would totally put this on my wall. And I work in art.

    So, I don’t want to hear another word about you not knowing what you’re doing, cos whatever it is, its working! 😉

  3. ok, I’ve come back and stared at the piece up top a number of times. I have to admit I wasn’t sure if it was yours or not LB because… well, (i hope this doesn’t sound shitty or completely yuck) because… it’s so good.

    I love it!

    You should call it, “The Trinity”

  4. As long as you had fun doing it, that’s all that matters.

    I suck at art, too! I’ll have to find one of these “forgiving” workshops so I can try my hand at having fun.

Leave a Reply

