Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

Standard

I should be really happy today.  I’m thrilled to death about our President-Elect, and my future boss called me today and said she wants to hire me (we now just need to work out the money and the transfer details).  I mean, come on,  Obama and a new job in less than 24 hours?  I would do a happy dance, but I think we all know how i feel about dancing.  But there are a couple of things that are keeping me firmly entrenched on the ground: the passage of Prop 8, which will ban gay marriage in CA; and Doris.

I have gay friends who have gotten married in the last couple of months.  And it just kills me that a bunch of yahoos in my own state feel as if they have to “protect” marriage.  What in the hell are they afraid of?  I mean, I can respect your belief that marriage should be between a  man and a woman. Good.  If that is your belief then if you’re a man, don’t marry a man, and if you’re a woman, don’t marry a woman. Just like with abortion.  If you don’t believe in abortion, don’t have one!  I mean, I’m a vegetarian.  I have strong beliefs about eating meat.  But am I going to say no one can eat meat?  No, I am free to not eat meat, as you are free to eat a whole damn cow and the pig it rode in on if you so choose. 

Anyway, the passage of Prop 8 makes me sad.  I’m sad that 52% of my fellow Californians are so fearful or just downright bigoted.  I’m sad that my friends’ marriages are threatened (and I mean, truly threatened, as in annulled. Not threatened as ‘all those gays are going to take the good wedding venues and run up the prices for catering and flourists’).  I’m sad that my friend who just wants to meet a nice girl and settle down and get married may not have that chance here in her home state.  I’m sad that my friends don’t have the same rights that I do. 

The other thing that is getting me down is Doris.  I made the mistake of telling Doris about my job offer.  Now, I’m working at home all this week because I was supposed to be on vacation, but a colleague got called into jury duty, so I was told I had to work, which pissed me off to no end.  But, at least he agreed to let me work from home.  Anyway . . . so rather than letting me do some puttering around the house between work tasks, Doris is IMing me every few minutes to tell me how depressed she is that I will be leaving.  Sigh.  Yes, Doris it is all about you.  And thank you so much for making me feel guilty about leaving.  Way to be supportive, old girl.

But, back to the happy part.  For myself, I feel like I’m waking up from an eight year long nightmare. I actually can feel this weird feeling that, if I recall correctly, is called hope. 

20 responses »

  1. It seems that every generation has some growth experience they need that help them UNlearn the hate and fear they were taught. Little by little by little society becomes more equitable but it is very unfortunate that so many have fight as well as go through the heartache and pain to get us there.

  2. tell Doris we live in a democracy again ~ thadill corn fuse her. Theze is the dying gasps of the old guard = Palin ill be pushin in the wrong direction and by 2016 she’ll be startin to sag ~ maybe then she ill cum outa the closet ~ eye mean aint it ob vee us the ol man is gay gay gay = ?

    n e wayz = itza minor set back fur sure ~ in the end civil rights prevail over bigots ! ! ! n eye mean in the end 😉

  3. “don’t believe in abortion , don’t have one” is that like, don’t believe in shooting babykilling abortionists don’t shoot one?
    SAY THIS PRAYER: Dear Jesus, I am a sinner and am headed to eternal hell because of my sins. I believe you died on the cross to take away my sins and to take me to heaven. Jesus, I ask you now to come into my heart and take away my sins and give me eternal life.

    Please note: I have included this comment, but have deleted the URL. I did not want to drive any traffic to this fool’s disgusting website. LB

  4. *temporarily distracted*

    what was I gonna say? Oh. Congratulations, LB! On the job. That’s pretty freakin’ awesome.

    The 8 years… waking up… hope… disbelief that there’s actually cause for hope… yes. I feel that way. So many people feel that way. Two days later, still can’t hardly believe it.

  5. also, measure 8, horrible. But-

    we’re talkin about it. People who don’t think about it much one way or another, kinda forced now to go, “What discrimination. What a crappy thing to do.”

    Those who keep pushing this issue into the spotlight may be doing an indirect service to the many people in the country they’re discriminating against, because… that’s how movements get started.

  6. Congratulations on two counts – the job. And helping to elect a human being as president. It’s been a while.

    Paris is great. The empowerment was incredible. Tomorrow is the play. I then have another weekend in Paris for pure samsaric indulgence: Sorry I haven’t been blogging from the field but I will be posting on the festival and other developments when I get back.

  7. It was disheartening to hear about Prop 8.

    And i feel sorry for people like Rev. Spitz. I think there are more important things to worry about than whether a woman makes a choice with her body.

    By the way… does that mean I’m saved now. I read through the comments and by the time I figured it out I had read his whole prayer.

    Dammit!

    Does that mean I have to kick out The Deistette?… i mean, technically i guess we’re livin’ in sin.

  8. dunt look now but Cheney is fixin to rob the store ~ ifin yer dis tracted you kin bet the con gress iz = OY the u 4 E aa didnt last long

    kidogo kidogo hujaza ki baba

  9. Congrats on the new job!

    I really know how you are feeling about Prop 8. I haven’t been able to tear myself from the news, and twitter and following the ongoing demonstrations against the ban.

    This is what I was afraid of. I know how bigoted people are. I know that most of California is not progressive.

  10. ch ch changin ots from big to small one big ot at a time ~ eye m gonna miss doris two = maybe we can meet for beans and weenies sum time ? bird in a nest ? pigs in a blanket ? I promise to be only dangerous or perverted but never both at the same time.

  11. Rev End Donald Spitz
    Cuz He Wishes He Had Titz
    Selling Guiltz The Shitz

    Big J Got Stretched Out
    Did His Children Scream And Shout?
    Can’t Stop Now? ~ Just Try !

  12. There you were in my head again. Either that or I really do have multiple personalities, one of which is an intelligent writer and it’s my blog. Probably not, and I hope for your sake the former isn’t true either. In any case, there have been a few times I’ve read your blog and my jaw drops at how accurately it reflects something I’ve though or been feeling. This is one of those times. I felt unbearably sad on Wednesday because of Prop 8. Having been raised Catholic, I instinctively expect the worse and had prepared myself. Still, I could not grasp what had happened and felt so angry, disappointed and overwhelmingly sad. I could not shake the feeling. Meanwhile, people all around me were joyful and optimistic at how the presidential election panned out. I am pleased about that also, but could not keep the Prop 8 result from overshadowing that feeling. Gay coworkers and friends I encountered that day were celebrating Obama’s win, one saying how he had cried with relief as he watched the results come in, and no one was even mentioning Prop 8. Thursday I felt better and by today I’m mostly over it. Part of my “recovery” has been to do with other things I’ve read, including this comment left to an article in our local newspaper (http://www.eurekareporter.com/article/081105-california-voters-approve-gay-marriage-ban) which stated in part, “ . . . In 2000, the support for prop 22 was around 62% and now the support for prop 8 is around 52% – down 10 points in 8 years. We are moving towards fairness slowly but surely. . . .” I just hope we can pick up the pace and make it that other 52 points in my lifetime.

  13. (I apologize if some of this has been said prior to my comment. I have yet to vent my feelings about this years election and passage of a certain prop. So I am doing so now. Thanks, LB, for the venue)

    Change is good. Everyone seems to find it odd, though, that the general populace seems to have a fairly liberal point of view on life right now, yet can’t seem to get over the fact that gays and lesbians want to marry each other legally. It is very sad.

    Wife and I took the passage of Pop 8 pretty badly. Some of our dearest friends were devistated. They were married when S.F. started doing it, then had to go through the heart ache of being told it didn’t count. Then they were told they could again. Now they are told they can’t.

    Someone, somewhere, once decided it was wrong to look at a person as inferior due to the color of their skin. This huge step in forward thinking made the world we live in a genarlly better place. Now, to say someone is inferior because of skin color is a violation of their civil rights. Why can’t our friends be afforded the same? Is it really any different? Are we as a society discriminating against another group simply because they are different?

    I don’t see any difference. It seems the only thing I see is a society that has given up one predjudice for another.

    It does make me sad.

  14. I was surprised to see Prop 8 pass. Ohio banned gay marriage a few elections ago, but that didn’t surprise me given that Ohio was a red state. People can be such idiots (I have stronger words than that, but I’m playing nice today).

    At least Ohio went blue this time. It’s nice to be able to hope again, isn’t it?

    Congratulations on the job!

  15. Congratulations on the new job, that’s fantastic! And don’t let Doris and her ‘Eeyore’ ways bring you down.

    I was really saddened to hear that Prop 8 got passed, and as for comments like those from the ‘Rev’ Donald Spitz, I feel quite sure that Jesus of Nazareth would be horrified by any such righteous prejudice uttered supposedly on his behalf. By all accounts (and even the non-Christian contemporary writers such as Josephus agree) he was a kind, gentle, tolerant individual with a message of love for one’s fellows, not a raving bigot. Sadly, his many of his ‘followers’ seem to have forgotten most of his message in the intervening 2,000 years.

  16. ya mean like turnin the udder cheek ? thatz all wayz bean a tree key won ifya ax me.

    so house about Rev ? gotthem cheeks flappin yet ?

Leave a Reply

