Change is good

Standard

I guess I’m not one you would call a girly girl.  A lot of things that are supposed to interest women actually confuse me.  Things like cooking, cleaning, decorating and getting gussied up leave me cold.   For the most part, this hasn’t been a problem. Well, except for the cleaning. My lack of interest in cleaning has gotten me into situations in the past that have caused me a lot of embarrassment and shame.  But, other than that, I’ve gotten by just fine with my lack of domestic skills.

Occasionally though an odd urge strikes.  One night a couple of months ago I really needed to make cupcakes, but I don’t even own a bag of flour or sugar, and the eggs in my refrigerator expired months ago.  (I did, oddly enough, own a cupcake baking tin – I purchased that years ago as a way of holding beads during a short beading phase.)  The next day I bought some cake mix and canned frosting and actually used my oven for baking.  They turned out OK.  But the urge hasn’t struck since, much to The Boyfriend’s chagrin.  He really, really would like me to take an interest in cooking. “Really, it’s fun.  You’ll get into it.” Nah.  Where’s the take out menu?

The other night I was sitting in my home office where, because that is where my computer lives, I spend a lot of time.  This room has always depressed me.  It’s small.  It’s dark. It’s got this weird ass sink in the corner. And the closet has these ugly sliding mirror doors on it.  With NaNoWriMo right around the corner, the idea of spending more time than I have to in here suddenly sent me into a funk.  At first I called my old buddy who is a feng shui teacher and consultant.  I had her help me with my old apartment, and even though it was traumatic experience, the result was worth it.  As usual, she wasn’t home.  So, I called my friend Annie and told her my plight.

Everyone needs to have a friend like Annie.  Having a friend like Annie is like having your own personal cheerleader.  You can be in a really sucky place, and Annie will still find some way to find a positive spin.

LB: Annie, my boyfriend left me, my cat died and I’m getting fired, I feel like shit.
Annie: Oh LB, this is just a transition for you.  I really sense that things are going to turn around into some new and exciting for you.  But you have to discard all this old garbage first.  Isn’t this exciting??
LB: Ya think?
Annie: Oh honey, I don’t think it, I know it.

You get the idea. So, I called her to complain about my sucky office and how uninspiring it was.  She immediately started spewing out suggestions for improving my space.  By the time I got off the phone with her I had a shopping list and I was energized to change my depressing office into an inviting writer’s lair.

Today The Boyfriend and I started shopping for the big transformation.  I bought a small fountain pump for the sink. Rather than being just an ugly sink, it is now a little fountain that delights the ear and provides a source of freshly oxygenated water for Alaska.  I need to add some plants around it and put some glass pebbles to make it all pretty, but having the water tinkling in the background is quite soothing.  I also bought some red paint for the walls.  Yes, red.  The Boyfriend flinched as I showed him the colors I was thinking of, but hey, tough titties, this is my office and if I want to do my work in a bordello or a womb that is my own damn business.

So, this we have a good start.  I still need to find a new desk, and do the actual painting and such. But, I feel inspired.  Thanks, Annie.

17 responses »

  1. I can understand not being a girlie-girl. I’m not really a manly-man. When talk turns to sports and players I want to run and hide. Not many people I know want to discuss camera lens and exposure settings.

  2. “this is my office and if I want to do my work in a bordello or a womb that is my own damn business”

    Abso-bloody-lutely!

    I’m not a girlie girl either. Although I can and do cook and clean.

  3. I would simply be happy to have an office of some sort. Right now, my only work space is a cramped portion of my son’s room, between the dresser and newt vivarium. So you are one up on me for sure. As for working in a womb? Not sure about that. Now, working in a bordello, I’m pretty sure I would not get any work done at all.

  4. Well, shoot, LB… i haven’t thought a thing about a writer’s lair and NaNoWriMo. I’m all freaked out about what you said with me needing to take two hours a day from The Deistette. Ugh. Now I need a lair!

    God, my house is such a shit hole right now. I’ve got mold in my bedroom due to Hurricane Ike. There’s stuff everywhere because of being moved out of there and my house is small to begin with.

    Can i borrow Annie?

  5. BQ – If I ever have the chance to have you and Annie in the same room, I’m definitely introducing you two. I have sense you’d probably totally hit it off.

    Stevo – I think cameras and gear are kinda gender neutral. But, as with any hobby or passion you gotta find the right people who can appreciate all the details and minutia. Otherwise, the ol’ eyes just start glazing over.

    Truce – Could I get a recording of you saying “abso-bloody-lutely!” so I can play that everytime the BF goes “are you sure about this?”. He’s normally pretty supportive about my hare brained schemes, but he has very definite ideas about lighting and color when it comes to my house.

    Corina – I’ll see what I can do? Perhaps I can start making a little money on the side with my RentaAnnie business. Everyone needs an Annie.

    Adam – Yes, I am fortunate to have a home office, though you may have one up on me with the newt vivarium. Hmmm, after I remodel this room, I may have some space for some newts.

    Jules – Sweetheart, take a deep breath. The writer’s lair is not necessary to participating in NaNoWriMo. You just need to find a quiet space where you can write with minimal interuptions. I’m just obsessing about my office now because come November I don’t want to still be getting depressed every time I step foot in it.

    I’m sorry to hear that your house sustained damage in Hurricane Ike. Boy, you’ve had a lot going on lately, haven’t you? Remember, take care of yourself and your loved ones first, and if you can’t do NaNo this year, you can join Annie in the cheering section. You can even write a little encouraging ditty for Am and I.

  6. that redz too dark ~ eyed con cider movin mo in the die rekshun of a burnt yellowy orange but not the flamin type ~ dont wanna give the neighbors the rong idears

  7. I just read Jules post, and I donno about encouraging ditties. He could probably keep us warm with some creative epithets, though.

    (just kidding J)

    I’m trying to resist the impulse to ‘lol’ all over your respectable comment column, LB, but I really did lol. I lol’ed big time, both at cupcake tin for beading, and then majorly at ‘but hey, tough titties, this is my office and if I want to do my work in a bordello or a womb that is my own damn business.’

    Kinda envious that you get to write in a bordello. Over here, my preparation has amounted to re-reading ‘The Truth About Fiction’, and trying to solve the myriad coding problems in the Neo Office open source word processor.

    I could technically write a manuscript with it now, but it couldn’t be edited, even for typos, and the whole thing would be double-spaced with mysterious portions of text highlighted by unseen beings. Maybe that program is possessed by a well meaning but thoroughly dead ex-creative writing professor. I don’t know. But it’s not impossible at this point that I’ll be writing my manuscript as a WordPress Blog.

    Wheee!

  8. “I guess I’m not one you would call a girly girl. A lot of things that are supposed to interest women actually confuse me. Things like cooking, cleaning, decorating and getting gussied up leave me cold. For the most part, this hasn’t been a problem. Well, except for the cleaning. My lack of interest in cleaning has gotten me into situations in the past that have caused me a lot of embarrassment and shame. But, other than that, I’ve gotten by just fine with my lack of domestic skills.”

    You and I have the same domestic skills too. I don’t really like girly girls, actually. I just don’t know what to do with them.

    Just a word of caution – are you engaging in what looks like pre-novel procastination syndrome? In other words, finding all manner of things to do rather than getting down to the nitty gritty of writing. This is a common syndrome that I am very familiar with. I suffer from this heavily. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with redecorating your writing space, as long as you actually sit down and do the writing. Make sure you don’t find other things that need to get sorted before you’re able to inspire yourself to get down and dirty on your novel.

  9. BB Golly – I think I’m starting to agree with you about that red. But, I have my heart set on red . . . and I don’t want some stinkin’ orange. Oh my oh me what to do?

    Am – If I have made someone lol all over themselves, my work is done. 🙂 I have some writing books at home and there are some novels I should be reading, but now I’m afraid to read anything that is going to get me thinking too much or 2nd guessing myself.
    So, instead my energy is going into rethinking my bordello, uh, I mean writing room.

    Wisdomjunkie – NaNoWriMo doesn’t start until November 1, so I’m using the next week or so to get all those things that drive me crazy out of the way. Hence the focus on the room itself. Of course, I could be doing some research or working on a plot outline, but I think I really may just stick with fleshing out my characters so that when November 1 at midnight comes (and I’ll be at a writing kick-off party then) I can hopefully point them in the general direction of the plot and put them in motion.

    If I’m still going on about redecorating my office come November 1, I promise you can slap me silly.

  10. bedder to have a stinkin rose than a stinkin orange eh ?

    orange ya glad eye didn’t say red ?

    corn gratz you layshuns on yer color ~ in the end itz in the “I” of the bee holder eh?

    an datz sum funny honey = btw nice sink fountain ~ will thair be plantz ?

  11. BB Golly – Yes, the sink -> fountain transformation still has a ways to go. I don’t know if you noticed the butt ugly medicine cabinet and light fixture over it, but those are gone. So, a new light fixture, a little shelf for some a couple of plants, and then find some way to hide or transform the pump cord, and it will lovely.

    As for the slapping silly? Sure, but you’ll have to come over here. I ain’t traveling out your way just to get slapped. Besides, I have more paint for you.

Leave a Reply

