This wasn’t what I had planned

Standard

In order to make sure that I got everything done this weekend that I needed to, I made a very detailed “to do” list.  Buy new mop head – check.  Get Alaska’s prescription food and sub-Q fluids – check.  Rescue another rabbit?  Hey!  That’s not on my list!

I was enjoying my free day to myself when my neighbor called me.

“Hey, do you want another rabbit?”

“No, I’m good on the rabbit front.  Really, I can’t have any more animals.  Why?”

“Oh, one of my tenants abandoned this rabbit.  Just left him in a truck that I assumed he abandoned also since it doesn’t run anymore.”

“That’s horrible!”

“Yeah, he was a piece of work.  Well, don’t worry about it, Maria and I will figure out what to do.  I’ll hold onto the rabbit and hope the guy calls or comes for him.”

“OK. Well, call me if you need any supplies or advice.  I’m happy to help that way, but I simply can’t have another pet.”

My curiosity got the best of me though, and walked over to the truck to check on the rabbit.  At least I can make sure he’s OK until Maria came to pick him up.  And there s/he was.  A little black and white bunny sitting in an abandoned truck with no food and no water.  But s/he seemed in good shape as s/he (ah hell, until I figure out the sex, I’m just going to call say “it”) hopped over and let me pet it.  The windows had been open and the truck was parked in the shade, so it didn’t seem in distress.  Still, I dashed home to get him a bowl of water, some rabbit food and a carrier.

On my way back, I ran into Maria.  Maria is my cleaning lady, and we have a mutual fondness for each other, even though there is a language barrier.   We walked together over to the truck and both shook our heads at the plight of the poor rabbit and the filth he had been left in.  But, Maria, bless her heart, without  hesitation, hopped into that filthy truck, grabbed the little bunny and we put it in the carrier.

She smiled as she handed me the carrier. “Conejo for you”.

“No, yo . . . uh . . . thought conejo for vous . . . uh, you.”

“You like conejo, si?”

“Si, conejo es muy bueno.”

“Gracias. Bye bye conejo.”

“Ah shit.”

So, for now I have another bunny. It wasn’t my intention when I got up this morning.  Yet, as a friend reminded me, none of my pets were ever planned (which isn’t entirely true, Alaska was intentional).  But, yes, as a rule, yes, my animals are all rescues.  These animals sometimes literally show up at my doorstep in need.  I, like a damned fool, open the door almost every time.

And I have absolutely no regrets.

12 responses »

  1. Some people are so thoughtless… sounds like you and the rabbit were in the right place at the right? same? time. I recently came by 2 guinea pigs in much the same way. I couldn’t leave them in the sad place where they came from. I also have 3 rabbits. Furry Bodhisattvas, indeed.
    Compassion isn’t always easy but we know it’s Right.
    Best wishes with your new charge. : )

  2. TMC – Compassion for animals is easy. People not so much. It appalls me the cruelty and thoughtlessness with which people simply abandon animals. That particular apartment is somewhat cursed. The last person who lived there abandoned her three cats, two of whom I still feed to this day (the third one got adopted).

    It was a tough night last night. Mr. Binkles was hardly thrilled with his new neighbor, but the new guy was completely unfazed and seemed to want Mr. Binkles company. So, I guess I’ll try and bond them. Any suggestions?

    Christina – Si, I like conejos. And, while this one didn’t exactly hop right into my house like Mr. Binkles did, it certainly presented itself in a way that I couldn’t refuse. Poor bunnies. People throw them away so easily.

  3. The wife and I are lucky we don’t happen across to many abandoned animals, or we too would have house full (it feels that way now, quite honestly).

    On the idea of introducing new critters to established residents, I read a good way to introduce cats is to let one inhabbit a room all day, then switch. this way they can get used to each others smell. Might work on rabbits? I don’t know.

    At any rate, you are a fine person for taking on the job of care taker.

  4. well, I’m assuming we’ll be seeing some video of Mr Binkles and his new buddy as soon as they’re acclimated to each other. You’re a good egg LB… a gooooood egg. muah.

  5. awww… this new guy’s probably not seen another rabbit since he was snatched away from his breeder mommy and thrown into a pet store mishmash. Can’t blame him for making googly eyes at Mr Binkles. My intial thought (if you plan to keep him or adopt him out later) is to get him to the vet, checked for cooties and fixed if he isn’t already. In my experience it’ll make the introductions less tense and bitey. All that aside, there will be some scuffling so you might want to do phased supervised introductions, providing a box or someplace for one or the other to hide. When I introduced my 2 boys, I had fed them each only hay for 1 or 2 days, then put them together and fed them their favorite pellets. They were (initially) too busy muching side by side to remember to scuffle, then they flopped over with full bellies. I’m certainly no expert, but hopefully some of this helps Mr Binkles and Esteban. (I thought he sounded like an Esteban) : ) Let us know how it goes.

  6. probably knot cuz mostly ~ nobody gives a truck

    remember – atheism is a non-prophet organization

Leave a Reply

