3:45 am thoughts

Standard

I had to get up and out of bed before the anger and resentment kicked in. It’s my bed, dammit! Yet, between the Sasquatch sleeping at the foot of the bed, and the boyfriend, I have no room to move in my own damn bed. So, to escape the escalating negative thoughts I get up and check my email and blog stats.

As anyone who sleeps with a four legged creature knows, their weight when they are dead asleep is 2-3 times their waking weight. So, your average 12 lb kitty ends up as a 25 lb stone sharing your bed. However, Sasquatch’s waking weight is about 28 lbs, so I end up with a freakin’ 70 pound boulder in my bed.

Normally, this is not a problem. He gets one side of the bed, and I get the other. In fact I rather enjoy my bedtime routine with the ‘Squatch. I come to bed, he comes up for a cuddle and a nice hand licking (he’s the one doing the licking, btw) and then he settles down in the bottom corner of the bed. I don’t bother him, he doesn’t bother me. But, when the boyfriend is over, the cat-boulder ends up at the foot of my side of the bed, and the boyfriend ends up in the middle of the bed. So, I end up with half my vertical space taken over by the boyfriend, and the horizontal by a snoring Sasquatch.

Deep sigh. So, I’ll try and remember I happen to love these two highly annoying, bed-hogging, snoring sentient beings and try to generate a bit of gratitude that they are in my life (despite how annoying they are in my bed).

7 responses »

  1. Yes, Sasquatch is a very, very big boy. He’s a Maine Coon cat which is one of the largest domestic breeds. The vet says he’s about 3 lbs overweight, so even at his proper weight of 25 lbs, he’s one massive puddy dat. Funny thing about ‘Squatch is that he is the biggest scaredy cat alive, so while my friends are intrigued and want to see the him, he is so afraid of strangers he hides under the bed. I guess he is living up to his name as the mysterious, mythical Sasquatch.

  2. I can do nothing but agree about the dead weight of a sleeping cat. Ubu, affectionately nick-named “Tubby” is exactly the same as your dear Sasquatch. While nowhere near as big, Ubu only weighs about 14 pounds, he makes life miserable in the middle of the night when I am cold and the sheets are rooted into one place. Annoying, yes. But I’ll be damned if I won’t miss that annoyance as time moves on and eventually so does he.

    As always, thanks for sharing, and allowing me to stop by and do the same.

  3. I would liken the dead weight of a sleeping cat to be more like a bag of flour than a boulder… a bag of flour that moves to stay on top of you every time you move. But I understand the situation.

  4. I’ve always been amazed at just how much space a sleeping cat can take up in a bed. I’m pretty sure they must grow to 2-3 times they’re usual size at night while we’re sleeping.

Leave a Reply

