Settling in

Standard

Last night I slept 11 hours. Granted, the night before I didn’t sleep well at all, and I took a benedryl last night to ensure I would get a full night’s sleep, but for me to sleep for 11 hours straight, without waking up once speaks to a much deeper level of tired than mere sleep deprivation. It’s happened before when I’ve been on retreat. The first day or so I’m fine, then as I settle in, the exhaustion hits. It’s not the exhaustion of being on retreat, but it’s like something on a deeper level just allows itself to let go and rest. So, this being my third day off in row (something I haven’t had in a very long time), it makes sense that I would go down for the count for 11 full hours.

So, today, the sun is finally making an appearance for the first time in a week, maybe more. Perhaps with the help of another cup of coffee I can be a productive citizen. Maybe not. Maybe I’ll just curl back up in the comfy chair and read some more. It’s all good.

6 responses »

  1. And good it has been. Even though there was a part of me that was saying “wouldn’t it be a fine day to clean”, there was another part that said “wouldn’t it be just lovely to sit and read and hang out with my four legged friends?” Guess which part won?

  2. As they should, as they should. 🙂

    The combination of myself and the comfy chair is a total cat magnet, of this I am aware. Mr. Binkles doesn’t find the combination as charming, as I believe his frantic pawing at my leg (note to self: clip the bunny’s nails) was his way of telling me to exit the chair so he could sit there. He did jump up for a moment of two for a nice head rub, but escaped before he had to endure the horror of actually being held and petted for an extended period of time.

    Damn, I love these four legged creatures.

  3. I am enjoying reading your blog — Thank you! Have you read Eat, Pray, Love? I’m convinced you wrote that! Thank you for adding the recent recap of your year. Having just come to your blog but not read all the history, it helped me feel “caught up” as it were. By the way, I’m Iver’s partner. Enjoy your time off (unless of course you are back at work now). I’m with you — if I don’t get time away from people on a regular basis, it is not a good thing. It is where I was at New Year’s. As much as I enjoy our friends, I wanted nothing more than to be in our house and see absolutely no one for a few days. Keep writing!

  4. Hi Janine —

    I’m glad you’re enjoying my blog. I have yet to read Eat, Pray, Love, but a friend of mine called me the other day saying I had to read it, and it should be in my mailbox when I get into the office tomorrow.

    Thank you for the encouraging words. I do enjoy writing and at one point in my wasted youth (Iver can fill in on the high school portion of that), I did aspire to become a journalist.

    Take care.

Leave a Reply

