A complete mess

Standard

I woke up at 3:00 am to find Nomie making little mewling sounds as if she were in pain. I took her to bed with me in the hopes we could both find comfort in each other’s presence. It was a fitful night, but at least it seemed she was able to sleep. Me, not so much. It was the first time in months that she has slept with me.

The vet was kind enough to squeeze me in first thing this morning. There are two theories: a) her electrolites are off b/c of the kidney disease which would explain why she can’t walk or b) she’s had a small stroke which would explain the sudden onset, the inability to walk, and her dilated pupils. However, he’s not clear why she is in pain. She’s at the vet hospital today – he’ll give her fluids and see if that doesn’t help things. If not, he’ll do some more test$.

When I come home from my half night and early morning cat vigil, I call my boss to take the day off, which I’ve wanted to do for some time now, but keep getting turned down. And, despite operating on no sleep, quasi-hysterical over my cat and deeply depressed, he still wants my ass at the office.

Then I get a message from my teacher that completely set me off. She’s back now, so she’s got her list of things that need to be done and she wants to meet tonight. No fucking way. I’m not sure how to respond. Instead I just wept on the phone to the boyfriend.

Hey, but at least I can rejoice that I’m purifying, right? Right?

One response »

  1. OMG- that reminded me so much of what happened last year to my “heartcat,” A. She had kidney disease and then had a stroke. I really feel for you.
    Sheba (one of my current kitties, a great cat too– but she’s not A) is in my lap now purring for you and your Nomie too.

Leave a Reply

